Published: 06.09.2016

A kind of Kālika Śruta (a category of Āgama (2) (canonical work) which can be studied only in the first and last quarter of day and night), in which is given the exposition of monastic conduct, biographical accounts and metaphy­sical topics. In ancient times, its study was undertaken after that of the Ācārānga Sūtra (the first Aṅga (principal canonical work)), and therefore, it is named as Uttarādhyayana.

(Nandī 78)

aṇgappabhavā jiṇabhāsiyā ya patteyabuddhasaṃvāyā.

(UNi 4)

ācārāt parataḥ pūrvakāle yasmādetāni pathitavanto yatayastena uttarādhyayanāni.

(TaBhā 1.20 Vṛ)


Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Aṅga
  2. JAINA
  3. Jaina
  4. Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
  5. Kālika Śruta
  6. Nandī
  7. Sūtra
  8. Āgama
  9. Śruta
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 2438 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4.03
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: