The Secret of Past Lives: Anupreksha (Contemplation)

Published: 02.11.2017

The system of Preksha dhyan bifurcates into

(a) concentration of perception,
(b) concentration of thought, i.e. "Preksha and Anupreksha".

In the former technique of meditation, perception is primarily used for concentration, while in the latter the conscious mind is encouraged to concentrate on a thinking process, i.e. contemplation.

Each contemplation is practised in five steps:

  1. Posture Selection
  2. Recitation of Mahapran Dhvani (6 times)
  3. Kayotsarg
  4. Perception and Contemplation
  5. Recitation of Mahapran Dhvani (6 times)

There are a number of contemplations. Few of them are presented here.

  1. Contemplation of Momentariness
  2. Contemplation of Tolerance
  3. Contemplation of Gentleness
  4. Contemplation of Fearlessness
  5. Contemplation of Co-existence


Title: The Secret of Past Lives
Authors: Muni Kishan Lal
Publisher: B. Jain Publishers Pvt. Ltd.
Edition: 2017

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Concentration
  2. Contemplation
  3. Dhvani
  4. Dhyan
  5. Fearlessness
  6. Kayotsarg
  7. Mahapran
  8. Mahapran Dhvani
  9. Meditation
  10. Preksha
  11. Preksha Dhyan
  12. Tolerance
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 258 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: