Published: 31.01.2018

Ford (to cross the ocean of mundane existence)-

1. The Śrutajñāna (articulate knowledge or the scriptural knowledge); the Pravacana - Discourse (of the Tirthankara (ford-founder)) which is renowned as Dvādaśāṅga (the twelve Angas (principal canonical works).

tīrthaṃ śrutajñānaṃ tatpūrvikā 'arhattā' tīrtha- karatā, na khalu bhavāntareṣu śrutābhyāsamantareṇa bhagavat evamevā"rhantyalakṣmīrupaḍhaukate.

(BṛBhā 1194 Vṛ)

...pavayaṇaṃ pi titthaṃ...

(ViBhā 1380)

titthaṃ dnvālasaṃgaṃ.

(Dhava Pu 13 p. 366)

2. The religious order of the Sramaṇas (1) (ascetic of the Jain religious order) which comprises male and female ascetics (i.e., monks and nuns respectively) and male and female lay followers.

titthaṃ puṇa cāuvaṇṇe samaṇasaṃghe.


Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Angas
  2. Bhagavat
  3. Dvādaśāṅga
  4. JAINA
  5. Jaina
  6. Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
  7. Tirthankara
  8. Śrutajñāna
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1559 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4.03
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: