Published: 16.12.2003
Updated: 15.07.2015
Darshan, Darśan, Darśana, दर्शन

Intuition or indeterminate cognition

Sanskrit: from root dṛś - to see

Most commonly used for "visions of the divine," e.g., of a god or a very holy person or artifact. One could "receive darshana" of the deity in the temple, or from a great saintly person, such as a great guru.

Direct perception of reality, insight,...

In Jain Epistemology anakara upayoga consists of four classes of darsana:

  1. caksuḥ-darsana (eye-cognition or vision);
  2. acaksuḥ-darsana (cognition by the mind as well as the sense-organs - other than the eye;
  3. avadhi-darsana
  4. kevala-darsana


Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Acaksuḥ-darsana
  2. Avadhi-darsana
  3. Caksuḥ-darsana
  4. Darshana
  5. Guru
  6. Kevala-Darsana
  7. Sanskrit
  8. Upayoga
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 26943 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4.03
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: