Lonka Gaccha

Published: 01.03.2016
Loṅkā Gaccha

The Loṅkā-gaccha was not founded by Loṅkā himself, but by his first disciple, Bhāṇa, who initiated himself and 45 followers of Loṅkā’s doctrine. This happened some time between 1471 and 1476. The new Loṅkā-gaccha took the 'five great vows', mahā-vrata, of the Jain monks and nuns.

From the 16th century until the 19th and 20th centuries, the history of the order is that of successive splits creating many subgroups. Most of them comprised an intermediate category of lay-ascetics called yati, who did not accept all of the monastic vows and returned to worshipping images.

The tradition now known as Sthānaka-vāsins derives from five monks who separately split from different lines of the Loṅkā-gaccha tradition during the 16th and 17th centuries.


Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Loṅkā
  2. Sthānaka-vāsins
  3. Yati
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1711 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4.04
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: