Dharmasthala Temple

Published: 27.04.2012
Updated: 08.07.2014
Chandranatha Jaina Temple of Dharmasthala, Kṣētra Dharmasthala, Shri Chandranatha Swamy Basadi, क्षेत्र धर्मस्थल


Dharmasthala Shri Chandranatha Swamy Basadi

an 800-year-old religious institution in the temple town of Dharmasthala in Dakshina Kannada, Karnataka, India. The deities of the temple are Shiva, who is referred to as Mañjunatha, Ammavaru, the tirthankara Chandraprabha - enshrinening his golden image - and the protective gods of Jainism, Kalarahu, Kalarkayi, Kumarasvami and Kanyakumari. The temple is considered unique since it belongs to the Shaiva sect of Hinduism. The priests are Shivalli Brahmins, who are Vaishnava, and the administration is run by a Jain Bunt family called the Pergade dynasty:

  • 21st Dharmadhikari of Dharmasthala Temple: Dr. Veerendra Heggade.
Trusts Managed By Dharmasthala:
  • SDM Education trust
  • SDM Education society
  • Siddavana Gurukula
  • Rural Employment Self Employment Training Institutes (RUDSETI)
  • Shri Kshethra Dharmasthala Rural Development Project (SKDRDP)
  • Shri Dharmasthala Siri Gramodyoga Samsthe (SIRI)
  • Medical Trust
  • Shanthivana Trust
  • Dharmothana Trust
  • Ayurvedic pharmacy, Udupi

In 1967-75 the Jain Heggade family erected a monolithic image Bahubali of Dharmasthala near the Chandranatha Swami Basadi.

Chandranath Swamy Basadi at Dharmasthala

view larger map


Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. 8. Tirthankara Chandraprabha
  2. Ayurvedic
  3. Bahubali
  4. Bahubali of Dharmasthala
  5. Basadi
  6. Brahmins
  7. Dharmadhikari
  8. Dharmasthala
  9. Dr. Veerendra Heggade
  10. Hinduism
  11. Jain Bunt
  12. Jainism
  13. Kanyakumari
  14. Karnataka
  15. Pergade
  16. Swami
  17. Tirthankara
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 2619 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.07
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: