17.09.2015 ►Acharya Shri VidyaSagar Ji Maharaj ke bhakt ►News

Posted: 17.09.2015
Updated on: 05.01.2017

News in Hindi

.•*´¨`*• पर्युषण का आगमन, जीवन में आया है अनमोल ¸.•*´¨`*•
¸.•*´¨`*• उत्तम क्षमा आदि धार तू, जय अरिहंत बोल! ¸.•*´¨`*•
क्षमा पारस जैसी, तप बाहुबली सा....ध्यान भरत तुल्य, संयम वृषभदेव सा....!!
तीर्थंकर की वाणी को ह्रदये में धारले...संयम तप आदि लेकर..जीवन संवार ले...

--- website: ♫ www.jinvaani.org @ Jainism' e-Storehouse ---

❖ Introspection and Forgiveness: The Jain Celebration of Das Lakshan commencing from tomorrow only, so let's ready to nourish soul natural qualities and read daily specially dedicated articles here ❖ Don't forget to hit share:) ❖ Jainism -the Philosophy
Paryushan is an eternal festival relating neither to people nor to any historical event. It is a time to celebrate the natural qualities of the Soul. Just as the Soul does not have a beginning or an end, Paryushan does not have a beginning or an end. It falls three times a year but is only celebrated once, around August/September because at this time, business is slow (in India), businessmen can take time off for spiritual pursuit. Also, it is the time of the monsoon retreat for monks and nuns in India. During this time when insects flourish, the monks and nuns reside in one city or community to avoid long distance travel so as to minimize trampling or harming living beings. Eating, drinking and being merry are normally associated with festivals, but Paryushan is the festival for spiritual upliftment. During Paryushan, Jains practice penances, vows, fasts, scriptural studies, and Pratikraman. If not fasting, they refrain from eating green vegetables. The reason for these practices is to have the mind and body focus more on the inner qualities and virtues of the Soul and cleanse the body. In North America, there are 18 days of celebration, in which the first 8 days are Paruyshan Parv celebration and the next 10 days are Das Lakshan (Festival of the Ten Virtues) celebration. After the celebration, Jains ask for forgiveness from each other, their friends, co-workers, and most importantly, their enemies. This asking for forgiveness is made easier after the 8/10/18 days of cleansing of our Mind and Soul such that our hearts become “soft” and we become mentally strong to ask for forgiveness. First we forgive others, and then we ask for forgiveness.

Ten Supreme Dharmas (Das Lakshan) The ten Dharmas, as also described in Tattvarth Sutra, are better understood in context of two common viewpoints found in the scriptures.

Vyavahar (External) view This view helps us live more easily and peacefully with the outside world. It also builds up a reserve of good deeds (punya Karmas). In Jainism, the Vyavahar view is considered a temporary view and a path towards Nischay view.

Nischay (Internal) view This view helps to enhance and blossom the Soul’s natural qualities. The Nischay view is considered to be the most important as it leads to contemplation and understanding of the true nature of the Soul with the aim of its purification, the ultimate goal of practicing Paryushan. Each of the ten Dharmas are all prefixed by the word ‘Uttam’ (Supreme) to signify that they are practiced at the highest level by the Jain monks. The householder practices them to a lesser extent. It lasts over a period of ten days, each day being dedicated to one of the ten Dharmas. These Dharmas are outlined below from both External View (Vyavahar View) and Internal View (Nischay) View.

--- website: ♫ www.jinvaani.org @ Jainism' e-Storehouse ---

Share this page on: