Navkar Mahamantra ► Navkar Mantra ► Description: The Nine Designations ► 7 Right Knowledge (Samayag Gyan) ► 2. Scriptual or Verbal Knowledge (Shruta Gyan)

Posted: 12.11.2013

Page 22

Navkar Mahamantra 38


2. Scriptual or Verbal Knowledge (Shruta-Gyan):

Knowledge of the scriptures is known as shruta gyan. It is of two types viz original scriptures (anga pravista) and other than original scriptures (anga bahay). This sruta gyan comprehends past, present and future.

Eight qualities are necessary for the acquisition of shruta gyan.
They are as follows:

  1. Desire for hearing
  2. Repeated questioning
  3. Attentive hearing
  4. Grasping
  5. Enquiry               
  6. Conviction
  7. Retention  
  8. Right action

Knowledge of the conventional vocabulary and conscious application of it are the preconditions of shruta-gyan. The mind is the organ of thinking. The more developed the mind, the more capable of thinking it becomes. The consciousness in the state of dormancy (inactivity) for knowledge is called Labdhi. In other words, the dormant (inactive) capacity of the Soul for knowledge is labdhi. Upayoga is consciousness in the state of activity.

Share this page on: