26.06.2010 ►Prakrit Jnanabharati International Award ►Meeting at Shravanabelagola

Published: 01.07.2010
Updated: 02.07.2015

Minutes of the meeting held on 26-06-2010 at Shravanabelagola


A meeting of the Selection Committee for Prakrit Jnanabharati International Award for the years 2007, 2008 and 2009 was held on 26-06-2010 at 3.30 PM at Shravanabelagola in the holy presence of His Holiness Jagadguru Karmayogi Swastishri Charukeerthy Bhattaraka Maha Swamiji, founder and President of Bahubali Prakrit Vidyapeeth, Shravanabelagola. The following members of the committee were presesent:


Hon.ble Justice A.C.Kabbin, Bangalore
Chairman, Karnataka Administative Tribunal, Bangalore

: Chairman


Prof. Hampa Nagarajaiah, Bangalore
Retd. Professor of Bangalore University

: Member


Prof. Prem Suman Jain, Shravanabelagola
President of India Awardee for Pali-Prakrit (2006)
Director, NIPSAR, S.Belagola

: Member


Dr. M.A.Jayachandra,
Retd. Principal, Bangalore

: Member


Shri L.S.Jeevendra Kumar,
Managing Trustee, Bahubali Prakrit Vidyapeeta ®, S.Belagola

: Special Invitee

Members Absent:

The following member could not attend the meeting but he has sent his consent to the decision taken by the committee:

  • Dr. S.P.Patil, Retd. Professor of Jainology, Sangl

Detail of the Proceedings:

After meeting Namokar Mantra Prof. P.S.Jain, Member of the Award Committee, welcomed and introduced the Chairman and Committee members. He said that Hon.ble Justice Shri A.C.Kabbin is well-known educationist and dignitaries of Karnataka and Dr. M.A. Jayachandra is scholar of Kannada and Jainology, Professor Hampa Nagarajaiah is former Chairman of the Karnataka Sahitya Parishad and eminent scholar of Jaina Art and Architecture. On the request of Prof. P.S.Jain His Holiness Jagadguru Karmayogi Swastishri Charukeerthy Bhattaraka Swamiji explained at length and emphasized the need for encouring Prakrit to South India in 3rd Century A.D. and Acharya Nemichandra Siddhantachakravarti has composed his four Prakrit works in this holy place Shravanabelagola in 10th Century A.D. He further made it clear that the study of Prakrit will be possible if proper environment is created and scholars working in the field are encouraged. Hence, in this connection it is necessary to Award to such persons who contribute for the enrichment, propagation and research of Prakrit language and literature. Afterwards, with the permission of the Chair, Prof. Hampana and Prof. P.S.Jain placed before the committee a list of the following main scholars in the field along with their academic achievements and explaind their outstanding and meritorious service in the field of Prakrit and Jaina Studies:

  1. Prof. Adelheid Mette, University of Munich, Germany
  2. Prof. Nalini Balbir, University of Paris, France
  3. Prof. Paul Dundas, Edibarough University, UK
  4. Prof. John E. Cort, USA
  5. Prof. Phyllis Grandoff, Tronto, Canada
  6. Prof. Olle Qvarnstrom, Sweden
  7. Prof. Johannes Bronkhorst, Laussen University, Switzerland
  8. Prof. K.C.Sogani, Jaipur, Rajasthan
  9. Prof. Rajaram Jain, Noida
  10. Prof. S.R.Banerjee, Kolkatta
  11. Prof. R.P.Poddar, Pune
  12. Dr. Udaichand Jain, Udaipur
  13. Dr. Shree Ranjan Suridev, Pa

Professor Dr. Hampa Nagarajaiah, Prof. Dr. Prem Suman Jain and Dr. M.A. Jayachandra presented the works and contributions of each of these scholars before the committee to His Holiness Jagadguru Karmayogi Swastishri Charukeerthy Bhattaraka Mahaswamiji and Hon.ble Justice Shri A.C.Kabbin, Chairman of the Award Committee. The Chairman suggested to the members to make the short list of the names of eminent scholars of International recognition after taking into considering their outstanding academic service in the field of Prakrit Studies and their seniority also. Committee members expressed their views in this regard with full detail literary contribution and Age factor. Then taken into consideration the views of the committee, members and examined the scholarly contribution of the suggested names of senior scholars who deserve the Award. Hon.ble Justice Shri A.C.Kabbin, Chairman of the Award Committee declared unanimously selection of following three senior scholars to be awarded this prestigious Prakrit Jnanabharati International Award:

  1. Prof. Dr. Rajaram Jain, Noida, India - Award for the year 2007
  2. Prof. Dr. Nalini Balbir, University of Paris, France - Award for the year 2008
  3. Prof. Dr. Adelheid Mette, University of Munich, Germany - Award for the year 2009

The brief bio-data and contribution of these Awardee scholars enclosed at the end of the minutes.

It was also resolved by the committee that the Award amount will be Rs. 1,51,000-00 (Rupees.One Lakh and Fifty One Thousand only) from 2007 onwards and the Award function for above three scholars will be arranged on 14th October 2010 at Shravanabealgola.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair and Pranams to Poojya Swamiji.

Chairman Selection Committee for
Prakrit Jananabharti International Award

Signature of the members Present and Special Invitees:

1) Prof. Hampa Nagarajaiah, Bangalore
2) Prof. Prem Suman Jain, Shravanabelagola
3) Dr. M.A.Jayachandra, Bangalore
4) Shri L.S.Jeevendra Kumar, Shravanabelagol

(Prof. Dr. Prem Suman Jain)
Director, NIPSAR
Bahubli Prakrit Vidyapeet

Biodata of the 3 awardees:

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Acharya
  2. Adelheid Mette
  3. Bahubali
  4. Bahubali Prakrit Vidyapeeth
  5. Bangalore
  6. Bhattaraka
  7. Charukeerthy Bhattaraka
  8. Environment
  9. Hampa Nagarajaiah
  10. Hampana
  11. JAINA
  12. Jaina
  13. Jaina Art
  14. Jaipur
  15. Johannes Bronkhorst
  16. John E. Cort
  17. Karnataka
  18. Lakh
  19. Mantra
  20. Munich
  21. NIPSAR
  22. Nalini Balbir
  23. Namokar Mantra
  24. Nemichandra
  25. Noida
  26. Olle Qvarnstrom
  27. Paul Dundas
  28. Poddar
  29. Prakrit
  30. Prakrit Jnanabharati International Award
  31. Prem Suman Jain
  32. Pune
  33. Rajaram Jain
  34. Rajasthan
  35. Shravanabelagola
  36. Swamiji
  37. Udaipur
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 8631 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: