Acharanga Bhasyam: Sūtras 1-4 : Discourse On Knowledge

Published: 23.03.2011
Updated: 02.07.2015

6.1 obujjhamāṇe iha māṇavesu, āghāi se ṇare.

The awakened among men preaches.

Bhāṣyaṃ Sūtra 1

Most of the people are ignorant. Among them, a few are knowledgeable; out of them again, a few are able to speak out their thoughts. Some among them is enlightened. He gives discourse to the people. The content of his speech of discourse is pointed out in the next Sūtra.

6.2 jassimāo jāīo savvao supaḍilehiyāo bhavaṃti, akkhāi se ṇāṇamaṇelisaṃ.

The person to whom all kinds of living beings are well known preaches the unparalleled wisdom.

Bhāṣyaṃ Sūtra 2

Everybody is not a preacher. The person who has clearly perceived the nature of the five classes of beings, starting from the one sensed and the like with reference to the substance, space, time and modes, is alone capable of giving a discourse about knowledge, that is, extra-ordinary.

'Ordinary' means what is understandable by gross power of knowledge. The extra-ordinary[1] is that which is understandable by the internal wisdom.

The knowledge of the self (soul), the path of emancipation and the principles of non-violence etc. are called extra-ordinary knowledge because these are capable of being intuited by internal wisdom.

6.3 se kiṭṭati tesiṃ samuṭṭhiyāṇaṃ ṇikkhittadaṃḍāṇaṃ samāhiyāṇaṃ paṇṇāṇa-maṃtāṇaṃ iha muttimaggaṃ.

The enlightened person speaks of the path of liberation to those who are exerting themselves for the discipline, self-restrained as abstaining from violence in mind, speech and body, whose mind is concentrated and who are wise.

Bhāṣyaṃ Sūtra 3

He explains the path of liberation consisting of knowledge, faith and conduct to them, who are enthusiastic about the practice at the path of liberation, who have given up the weapon of violence[2] in thought, word and deed, who are engaged in meditation with one pointed mind, who are possessed of wisdom, that is, endowed with intelligence and wisdom.

In the present Sūtra, four qualifications of the person eager to listen to the path of liberation are mentioned. The first qualification is the state of awakening[3] or the desire to awake. The second qualification is the awakened state of thought, word and deed or the desire to attain such awakening. The third qualification is the state of meditation or the desire to attain such meditation. The fourth qualification is the state of being endowed with knowledge[4] and wisdom. Here the Cūrṇi gives an important information.

If the disciples or the listeners are devoid of intelligence, there is loss of the scriptural text and its meaning. In other words, they are incompetent to grasp the path of liberation that is explained by the preceptor.

6.4 evaṃ pege mahāvīrā vipparakkamaṃti.

Some heroic persons make a special effort for practising the self-discipline.

Bhāṣyaṃ Sūtra 4

Under such circumstances, the heroic people, having listened to the path of liberation, exert themselves for the accomplishment of self-restraint. The particle 'api' (meaning: also) implies that the self-enlightened saints or the persons endowed with the memory of past lives, even without hearing the doctrine exert themselves for the same purpose.[5] This is found confirmed in the Sthānāṅga, viz., the soul gets to learn the discipline propounded by the omniscient in two ways: having heard of it and having intuited by himself.[6]


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jain Vishwa Bharati

Ladnun- 341 306 (Raj.) India © Jain Vishva Bharti

ISBNS 1-7195-74-4

First Edition:2001

Courtesy :
Shree Chhotulal Sethia Charitable Trust Sethia House, 23/24,
Radha Bazar Street, Kolkata-700 001 (INDIA)

Printed by:
Shree Vardhaman Press
Delhi (INDIA)

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Body
  2. Cūrṇi
  3. Discipline
  4. Meditation
  5. Non-violence
  6. Omniscient
  7. Soul
  8. Space
  9. Sūtra
  10. Violence
  11. Vṛtti
  12. Ācārāṅga
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1027 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: