Abstract Thinking: [08.05] Bhavana Of Influxes - Remissness

Published: 23.10.2006
Updated: 02.07.2015

Remissness means forgetfulness. The soul or consciousness is quite forgotten. In this state, a man's mind is attracted by sense-objects. Anger, pride, deceit and greed, once quietened, revive. All awareness is gone and the distinction between what is worth doing and what is not, grows dim.

Another meaning of remissness is - lack of vigour. In the state of remissness, a man grows indifferent to self-control, forgiveness, etc. One also grows lax in truthful behaviour. This gives rise to a state of spiritual sloth. One displays far greater interest in lustful talk and food, etc. than in spiritual development.

Attachment and aversion - these are the two principal flaws. Attachment breeds deceit and greed, and aversion gives birth to anger and pride. All these four - anger, pride, deceit and greet - colour the mind, that is why they are called 'kashaya' (passions), perversity, non-abstinence, remissness - these are consummated only with the rising of the passions. In the time of most intense passion, a man cannot practise even partial abstinence, in the time of intense passion, complete abstinence is not possible. In the presence of mild passion, one cannot attain to veetaragata. On the basis of the intensity or mildness of the passions, sixteen kinds are enumerated:

intensest anger

as a line carved on stone, most inflexible

Intenser anger

as a line drawn on clay, more inflexible

intense anger

as a line drawn on send, inflexible

Mild anger

as a line drawn on water, flexible momentary

Intensest pride

lice a pillar of stone, most resolute

intenser pride

like a pillar of bone, more resolute

intense pride

like a pillar of wood, resolute

MBd pride

like a pillar of vine, flexible

Intensest deceit

like the roots of bamboo, most crooked

Intenser deceit

like the horn of a ram, more crooked

intense deceit

like the flow of urine of a walking bull, crooked

Mid deceit

like the peeled bark of a bamboo, less crooked

Intensest greed

like the silk-worm, fastest colour

Intenser greed

like the slime, faster colour

Intense greed

like the wagtail, fast colour

Mid greed

like turmeric, immediately fading colour

There are four passions-anger, pride, deceit and greed.

The intensest passions are known as 'causing endless transmigration';
intenser passions as 'non-renunciatory';
intense passions as 'renunciatory' and
mid passions as 'inflammatory'.

The elements which excite these passions are called the 'lesser passions'.

These are nine - jesting; liking for non-restraining; disliking for restraining; fear, sorrow, feminine sex passions; masculine sex passions; dual sex passions.

Perversity, non-abstinence, remissness - after the ending of these influxes, the karmic particles continue to pour in through the influx of passions. After the ending of passions, the bondage of merit continues through activity.

  • Abstract Thinking
    by Acharya Mahaprajna, © 1988
  • Edited by  Muni Dulheraj
  • Translated by Muni Mahendra Kumar
  • Published by Jain Vishva Barati
  • Edition 1999 compiled by Samani Stith Pragya

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anger
  2. Consciousness
  3. Deceit
  4. Fear
  5. Greed
  6. Pride
  7. Ram
  8. Soul
  9. Veetaragata
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1741 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: